Grant Thomas, two years On the Road

We met Grant in Vientiane and kept traveling together one week in Laos. Grant was an engineer but left his country, Scotland, his company and his comfortable life to go on the road. Here is an inspiring word from him!

grant3

On the Lao-Cambodian border!

“When I graduated from University I knew already that I hadn’t the faintest clue about what I wanted to do and where I wanted to go. I couldn’t bare the thought of jumping straight into a graduate job and joining the daily 9 to 5 grind and saving for that un-affordable mortgage that pins you down for life. So what else was there?

Well I’ve always wanted to travel and see the world we live in, experience vastly different cultures and maybe in amongst all of this discover what I really want from life. Well that was two years ago and guess what; I am still on that journey and I cannot see it ending anytime soon! No, I haven’t truly discovered what I want to do for the rest of my life but what this travelling has done is open my eyes to a whole new way of living, offering unforgettable experiences and opportunities which I am truly grateful for.

Who says we have to go to University? Who says we have to get a steady job, an apartment and begin saving for the future so when we retire we can then maybe travel? Society makes us feel like we have to live a certain way but the truth is we can really do whatever we want and if we love what were doing then how can that be wrong? So, why-not ?!”

grant2grant1

